CALLING ALL PLANNING / HISTORY NERDS

YOU GUYS. Sorry for the all-caps, but the Society for American City and Regional Planning History (SACRPH) Conference will be in my fair city of Baltimore from November 17-20, 2011.

And dudes, CHECK OUT THIS PROGRAM (PDF). Sorry, can’t stop.

First, I happen to know several of the participants:

  • My Morgan State professors Siddhartha Sen (Panelist, Session 47: Planning Imperial Cities), Sidney Wong (Panelist, Session 10: The Urban Design Profession in the 1960s, and Session 29 Baltimore Highway Planning and its Effect on Planning Baltimore Roundtable), Daniel Campo (Panelist, Session 48: Industrial Redevelopment in the United States), and Joyce Pressley (Chair, Session 8: Planning for Infrastructure/Infrastructure for Planning, and Panelist, Session 55: Ecological Planning for Regions);
  • My friend Alex Baca (Panelist, Session 27: Out of Place: Gentrification, Displacement and Community Resistance)

Then there’s:

I just…I can’t even deal with this. And those are just the people with whose work I am most familiar. That just scratches the surface.

Of course, the conference costs money, but if you (like me) are strapped for cash, contact Eileen McGurty, Ph.D. at emcgurty at jhu dot edu; volunteer for one session and you get a free pass for an entire day of the conference!

Spread the word, and see you there!

